About LCS


Lakefield College School is fortunate to have a governance structure that draws upon the expertise and guidance of a committed group of volunteers who serve as Lakefield College School trustees and board members, as well as Lakefield College School Foundation trustees and board members.

School Trustees

Our school trustees formally represent the ownership of the school; they "guard the soul" of the institution, hold the trust of the founders, and continue the school’s legacy. Every trustee has a responsibility to promote the school’s mission and core values. Trustees meet twice a year, both in the fall and spring, participate in committees, and volunteer for special assignments. The number of trustees is not to exceed 75.

LCS Bylaws are available (to trustees) upon request to the Board Secretariat

School Board of Directors

Our school trustees are responsible for electing a smaller group of 12 to 18 directors who meet six to eight times per year. The Lakefield College School Board of Directors plays a more "hands-on" role. Directors are responsible for setting the goals the school management will implement.

Foundation Trustees

The Lakefield College School Foundation was newly constituted in May 2006. In addition to the foundation's original custodial and investment management functions, the foundation added to its portfolio all fundraising initiatives, donor stewardship, and strategic planning relating to fundraising and endowment. The members of the LCS Foundation feel a deep sense of passion for the school's values and establishing its place as the finest boarding school in Canada.

LCS Foundation Bylaws are available (to trustees) upon request to the Board Secretariat 

For more information on governance at Lakefield College School, or becoming a trustee, please contact Kathy Green, Board Secretariat.

Trustee Roster

List of 2 items.

  • School Trustees 2016/17

    Board Chair, Nicole Bendaly '93
    Past Chair, Nick Lewis
    Jennifer Allen
    Joel Allen '01
    Tim Bell '00
    Mary Blair
    Marilynn Booth
    Carlo Bos '94
    Lorraine Brown
    Andrew Clarke ’85
    Stephen Coates '90
    Paul Desmarais III '00
    Chonée Dennis
    Peter Dunn ’62
    Whitney Dunn '95
    Stephanie Edwards
    Amanda Ethier ’98
    Ann Farlow
    Jock Fleming '74
    Romina Fontana ’94
    Ian Fung '00
    Ross Garland
    Bill Gastle ’68
    Janice Green
    Rick Green
    Sue Guest
    Terry Guest*
    Neil Hamilton 
    James Hicks '84
    Alan Ingram
    Brett Jackman '03
    Warren Jones ’88
    Zack Kembar '87
    Janet Lafortune
    James (Kim) Little ’53
    Ross Little '81
    Hugh Macdonnell '85
    Kevin Malone ’77
    Lara MacGregor
    Patrick Marshall '90
    James Matthews ’58
    Karen McKnight
    Guy McLean
    John McRae ’70
    Val McRae
    John McWilliams '65
    Tom Milburn
    David Miller '77
    Bill Morris ’70
    Margaret Nelligan
    Andrew Parke '03
    Anil Patel '93
    Jonathan Popper '87
    Tony Pullen ’63
    Vicki Pullen
    Sean Quinn ’82
    Doug Rishor ’57
    Gretchen Ross
    John Ryder '77
    John Schumacher 
    Leslie Schumacher '06
    Murray Sinclair '79
    Scott Smith '87
    Trevor Smith '16
    John Stelzer '00
    Tom Stevenson '78
    Losel Tethong '89
    Stuart Thompson ’91
    Richard Tucker '77
    Tim Ward ’62
    Sophie Welch '16
    Cara Westcott
    Chris White ’90
    Terry Windrem
    His Royal Highness, The Duke of York ’78
    * Honorary Alumni
    Directors in Bold
  • Foundation Trustees 2016/17

    Honorary Chair,
    His Royal Highness, The Duke of York '78

    Board Chair 
    Jock Fleming '74

    Chair Emeritus,
    Paul Desmarais Jr. '73

    Emilio Azcarraga Jean '87
    Marilynn Booth
    Bruce Boren '87
    Michael Cooper
    France Deshaies
    Andrew Durnford '85
    Bernard Gault
    John K. Hepburn '68
    Suzanne Legge Orr
    Angus MacNaughton '48
    James G. Matthews '58, Secretary
    Bill Morris '70
    Rosemary Phelan
    Donald Ross '48
    John Ryder '77
    Thomas Ryder '53
    Nancy Smith
    Tom Stevenson '78
    Géza von Diergardt
    Richard Wernham

    * Honorary Alumnus
    Directors in Bold

Committee Opportunities

List of 7 items.

  • Governance

    A committee of the LCS Trustees, this committee ensures strategic succession planning, oversees annual trustee meetings and orientation resources for new board members and trustees.
  • Finance and Audit

    A board committee that acts as the fiduciary overseers for the financial well being of the school.
  • Risk Management

    A board committee that evaluates the school's risk management practices and develops strategies to optimize preparation for credible risks.
  • Joint Strategic Planning

    An ad hoc board committee responsible for overseeing the development of the school's and foundation's strategic plan.
  • Capital Construction

    An ad hoc management committee responsible for the development and recommendation, for approval to the board of directors, of a procurement and oversight policy for major capital projects in excess of two million dollars.
  • Student Fee Pricing Strategy

    An ad hoc management committee, responsible to the Joint Strategic Planning Steering committee to recommend to the board of directors, a mid- to long-term strategy for pricing a Grove education to serve as a reference source for management in arriving at its annual student fee recommendation.
  • Joint Head & CEO Review

    A joint committee of the school and foundation responsible for the annual evaluation of the Head of School and CEO LCS Foundation.

School Information

4391 County Road 29, Lakefield Ontario K0L 2H0   705.652.3324   admissions@lcs.on.ca


Lakefield College School is a private, coeducational boarding and day school for students in grades 9 through 12, located in Lakefield, Ontario, Canada.

Accessibility   Privacy Policy   Website Terms of Use