Governance at Lakefield College School

Lakefield College School is fortunate to have a governance structure that draws upon the expertise and guidance of a committed group of volunteers who serve as Lakefield College School trustees and board members, as well as Lakefield College School Foundation trustees and board members.

Lakefield's unique governance structure is comprised of up to 100 individuals who represent a broad range of skills, expertise and perspectives. The school seeks to ensure robust representation in its governing bodies in order to build its strengths and traditions while positioning Lakefield College School for exemplary governance in the future.

For more information on governance at Lakefield College School, or becoming a trustee, please contact Kathy Green, Board Secretariat.

School Trustees

Our school trustees represent the perspectives of current and alumni parents, alumni, students, teaching and non-teaching staff and from time-to-time members of the external community. The role of our school trustees is:
  • to promote the school’s mission and values;  
  • to support the future strength and permanence of the school by providing strategic advice to the school board and school leadership; and
  • to play a role in the ongoing development of good governance and effective accountability at Lakefield College School 
Trustees meet twice a year, both in the fall and spring, participate in committees and task forces, and volunteer for special assignments. 

LCS Bylaws are available (to trustees) upon request to the Board Secretariat.

School Board of Directors

Our school trustees are responsible for electing a smaller group of directors who meet approximately five times per year. The Lakefield College School Board of Directors plays a more "hands-on" role. Directors are responsible for approving and monitoring the school's strategic plan and implementation strategy, as well as ensuring effective oversight and monitoring of school resources and risks. 

Foundation Trustees

The Lakefield College School Foundation was newly constituted in May 2006. In addition to the foundation's original custodial and investment management functions, the foundation added to its portfolio all fundraising initiatives, donor stewardship, and strategic planning relating to fundraising and endowment. The members of the LCS Foundation feel a deep sense of passion for the school's values and establishing its place as the Canadian boarding and day school of choice.

LCS Foundation Bylaws are available (to trustees) upon request to the Board Secretariat.

Trustee Rosters

List of 2 items.

  • School Trustees 2018/19

    Board Chair, Nicole Bendaly '93
    Past Chair, Nick Lewis
    Joel Allen '01
    Bianca Bell '06
    Tim Bell '00
    Marilynn Booth
    Carlo Bos '94
    Max Brandes '19
    Lorraine Brown
    Jennifer Cameron
    Stephen Coates '90
    Tim Cooper '98
    Chonée Dennis
    Paul Desmarais III '00
    Peter Dunn ’62
    Whitney Dunn '95
    Isaac Eshikaty
    Amanda Ethier ’98
    Ann Farlow
    Romina Fontana ’94
    Ian Fung '00
    Rory Gilfillan
    Sue Guest
    Terry Guest*
    Neil Hamilton 
    James Hicks '84
    Alan Ingram
    Brett Jackman '03
    Warren Jones ’88
    Anne-Marie Kee
    Zack Kembar '87
    Janet Lafortune
    James (Kim) Little ’53
    Ross Little '81
    Hugh Macdonnell '85
    Lara MacGregor

    Kevin Malone ’77
    Patrick Marshall '90
    James Matthews ’58
    Karen McKnight
    John McWilliams '65
    David Miller '77
    Riona Mohan '09
    Bill Morris ’70
    Margaret Nelligan
    Jonathan Popper '87
    Tony Pullen ’63
    Vicki Pullen
    Sean Quinn ’82
    Danielle Saputo
    Bishop Riscylla Shaw
    Murray Sinclair '79
    Scott Smith '87
    John Stelzer '00
    Tom Stevenson '78
    Losel Tethong '89
    Stuart Thompson ’91
    Richard Tucker '77
    Emilia Voudouris '19
    Cara Westcott
    Chris White ’90
    Terry Windrem
    His Royal Highness, The Duke of York ’78
    * Honorary Alumni
    Directors in Bold
  • Foundation Trustees 2018/19

    Honorary Chair,
    His Royal Highness, The Duke of York '78

    Board Chair 
    Jock Fleming '74

    Chair Emeritus,
    Paul Desmarais Jr. '73

    Emilio Azcarraga Jean '87
    Marilynn Booth
    Bruce Boren '87
    Michael Cooper
    France Deshaies
    Andrew Durnford '85
    Bernard Gault
    John K. Hepburn '68
    Suzanne Legge Orr
    Angus MacNaughton '48
    James G. Matthews '58, Secretary
    Bill Morris '70
    Marc Parent
    Rosemary Phelan
    Donald Ross '48
    Felicia Ross
    John Ryder '77
    Thomas Ryder '53
    Murray Sinclair '79
    Nancy Smith
    Tom Stevenson '78
    Géza von Diergardt
    Richard Wernham

    * Honorary Alumnus
    Directors in Bold

Board Committees

List of 6 items.

  • School Governance

    The Governance Committee is a standing committee of the trustees, responsible for ensuring strategic succession planning of its trusteeship, the Board of Directors of Lakefield College School and the committee itself. The committee oversees the semi-annual trustee meetings, orientation resources for new trustees and board members, and the corporation’s risk management processes and procedures as they relate to governance matters. The committee ensures that the board and board committees develop annual work plans, review their terms of reference, conduct regular self-evaluations and that the board reviews its policies on a
    regular basis.
  • School Finance and Audit

    The Finance and Audit Committee is responsible for assisting the Board of Directors of Lakefield College School with prudent oversight of the financial operations of Lakefield College School and for presenting the financial statements of the school to the board annually with its recommendation and for oversight of the corporation’s risk and management’s financial risk practices for effectively managing or controlling these risks.  The committee will strive to ensure the financial well-being of the school in support of its mission and its strategic objectives.
  • Foundation Governance

    The mandate of the Foundation Governance Committee is to ensure that the foundation fulfills its legal, ethical and functional responsibilities through adequate governance policies and procedures.
  • Foundation Finance and Audit

    The mandate of the LCS Foundation Finance and Audit Committee is to oversee the financial operations of the Foundation and to present the financial statements of the Foundation each year to the Board with its recommendation.  The Finance Committee will strive to serve the best interests of Lakefield College School while meeting all of the requirements of legislation set out in the “Trustee Act” as it discharges its fiduciary obligations on behalf of the Foundation.
  • Foundation Investment

    The mandate of the LCS Foundation Investment Committee is to serve the best interests of Lakefield College School while meeting all of the requirements of legislation set out in the “Trustee Act” as it discharges its fiduciary obligations on behalf of the Foundation.
  • Foundation Fundraising

    The mandate of the Foundation Fundraising Committee is to direct, oversee, and support the Foundation’s revenue-generating and stewardship activities.

School Information

4391 County Road 29, Lakefield Ontario K0L 2H0   705.652.3324   admissions@lcs.on.ca


Lakefield College School is a private, coeducational boarding and day school for students in grades 9 through 12, located in Lakefield, Ontario, Canada.

Accessibility   Privacy Policy   Website Terms of Use