Co-Curricular Awards | Winter 2021 

On Tuesday, March 9, 2021, we celebrated our students' efforts and achievements through Winter Co-curricular Awards.

This “might be the last day of actually spending time with your current winter team, but your connections will last well beyond today. So I want to ask everyone to...think about what the past 4 months have brought you. Think about all the laughter, the sweat, the energy you experienced during your athletic programs. Think about all the fun you had in your arts programming. Think about all the creative problem solving that happened! Think about the things that have made your last four months with your winter team worthwhile. And I hope that these memories can forever be remembered in your heart.” - Maxwell Lu ’21

Since November, our students have been participating in over 20 athletic, arts, Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) co-curricular programs — working together and diving deep into a variety of experiences and interests while improving creatively and athletically.

At the same time, our students have demonstrated great resilience and flexibility in response to the ever changing landscape of safety protocols this year. It has been inspiring to see coaches and students work together, develop skills, have fun, and share their achievements with their peers, all while keeping our community safe. 

In January, we moved to remote learning for a time, and as a community we stayed true to our dedication to staying active and being creative. It took teamwork for our students and co-curricular leaders to pivot and remain steadfast in their belief in the importance of a balanced program. Collectively, we faced many challenges and we are proud of how adaptive our community has been.

Our STEM programs experienced a number of highlights over the Winter Term. 

The Grove Engineers competed in a popsicle stick catapult challenge, which led to final design projects that included making mechanical air filters and remote control vehicles from the ground up.

Our Culinary Arts students learned culinary techniques under Chef Evan Podd and how to make a variety of healthy and varied cuisines from around the world. 

The Drawing and Painting students brought an amazing mural to life and dove deep into their creative projects.

And, our Musical Theatre program worked on a variety of collaborative and individual projects in singing, acting and dance - from a number of different musicals. It was inspiring to see over 40 students working on skill development and collaborative pieces in a year that is so challenging for the performing arts. 

Winter Term Award Winners:

Spirit of SLASH - Doug Brown ’21 
Most Improved Player - Tyler Jervis ’23
Most Dedicated Player - Simon Coates ’23

Outdoor Recreation:
Most Enthusiastic - Joven Peralta ’21

Climbing Leadership Award - Mo Asche ’22
Most Improved - Amrit Garcha ’23
Most Dedicated - Vincent Cloutier ’22

1st Volleyball:
Susan Hadden Trophy for MVP - Abbey Murray ’21
Heart of the Game - Fernanda Fulcherberguer ’21

Jr. Volleyball:
J. Paige R. Wadsworth Award for MVP - Tierney Cater ’23 & Isabelle Kim ’23
Most Improved Player - Gabi Leveque ’24
Rookie of the Year - Maureen Hodnett ’24

1st Alpine Racing:
The Hicks-Lyne Memorial Trophy - Matt Northey ’21
The James Trophy - Christian Levec ’21
Most Improved Racer - Valentina Boren ’21
Junior Contribution - Nate Andras ’24

1st Riding:
Most Improved Rider - Clancy Bevan ’24

Team Fitness:
Most Dedicated Individual Athlete - Rory Cameron ’21
Most Enthusiastic - Alexis Pettersen ’22

1st Nordic Racing:
Harper Walker Cup for Most Valuable Skier - Ilana Mohamed ’21
Development Team MVP - Mariam Attyani ’24
Development Team MIP - Alexandra (Ali) Abell ’24
Racing Team MIP - Benjamin (Ben) Freeman ’23
Spirit of the Sport - Aidan Melville ’21

Jr. Basketball:
J. Paige R. Wadsworth Award for MVP - Richard Hong ’24
Most Improved Player - Branden Dunford ’23

1st Basketball:
The Colonel Lefevre Trophy for MVP - Jack Freeman ’21
Most Improved Player - Sihan Chen ’22

1st Snowboard Racing:
Most Valuable Junior Snowboarder - Dylan Smith ’23
Most Valuable Senior Snowboarder - Angus McAloon ’22

Boys Hockey:
Senior Performance Award (The Colonel Lefevre Trophy for MVP) - Eden Laliberte ’21
Senior Spirit of Hockey Award (Rookie of the Year Award) - Conall Whittaker ’22
Junior Performance Award (Bob Armstrong Award for Best Defenceman) - Max  Cantelon ’24
Junior Spirit of Hockey Award - Devon Hansen ’23
Goalie Performance Award (Winder Smith Memorial Award) - David Crispo ’22

1st Girls Hockey:
Susan Hadden Trophy for MVP - Liv Murphy ’22
Most Spirited - Julianna Cook ’21
Most Improved Player - Caroline Chen ’21 and Victoria Li ’22

Grove Engineering:
Spirit of Engineering - Jeewoo Lee ’21

Cast Iron Chef - Jonathan Volke ’21

Drawing and Painting:
Most Dedicated - James Wu ’21

Musical Theatre:
Musical Theatre Awards of Excellence - Sunaina Vallamkonda ’22, Norah Appleby ’24, Avery Packman ’24, Ainsley Dreossi ’24, Fiona Pazari ’24, Ivy Morgan ’24, Sophie Gray ’22

Congratulations to all of our students and to those who have been recognized! And thank you to our staff for continually finding new ways to offer our students the best programming in the safest way possible. 
No comments have been posted

School Information

4391 County Road 29, Lakefield Ontario K0L 2H0   705.652.3324


Lakefield College School is a private, coeducational boarding and day school for students in grades 9 through 12, located in Lakefield, Ontario, Canada.

We respectfully acknowledge that Lakefield College School is located on the Treaty 20 Michi Saagiig territory and in the traditional territory of the Michi Saagiig and Chippewa Nations, collectively known as the Williams Treaties First Nations, which include: Curve Lake, Hiawatha, Alderville, Scugog Island, Rama, Beausoleil, and Georgina Island First Nations.
Lakefield College School respectfully acknowledges that the Williams Treaties First Nations are the stewards and caretakers of these lands and waters in perpetuity and that they continue to maintain this responsibility to ensure their health and integrity for generations to come.

Accessibility   Privacy Policy   Website Terms of Use