Facebook Pixel

Winter 2023 Co-curricular Awards

This week, we celebrated our students’ efforts and achievements through Winter Co-curricular Awards. Since November, students in 25 athletic, art, and STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) co-curricular programs have been working together to develop and improve skills, work creatively, gain new knowledge, build connections, and have fun.

While we recognize individual athletes for their progress and development in their chosen activity, we also recognize the many achievements our students have made as teams/groups in the past few months.

We would be remiss not to highlight the following:
We were also honoured to host many Nordic Ski events at the LCS Campus, including:
  • OFSAA Nordic Championships attended by over 1000 people
    • 100 LCS students volunteered to help run the event
  • The CISAA Championship
  • The LCS Invitation Nordic Ski Race
  • An Ontario Cup event, which is the premier nordic skiing club race in Ontario
Our students aren’t the only ones who saw success at these events, LCS Nordic Skiing Coach Todd Harris, who spearheaded these races, was awarded Nordic Skiing Leadership in Sport award by OFSAA for his contribution to the sport over the past 25 years.

Students involved in our Art and STEM programs also made notable achievements, including:
“There were so many highlights this winter season, with both individual and team successes…for both our recreational and competitive programs, each and every one of you should be proud of your accomplishments.” - Mr. Ross

Congratulations to all of our students on a successful winter term!

Spirit of SLASH: Simon Coates ’23 and Hirotaka Tanaka ’25 (dedication, reliability, and loving all things SLASH)
Most Improved Player: Aidan Sumner ’25 and Nora Reise-Ward ’26 (dedication, love of learning)
Most Valuable Player: Leon Gell ’24 and Julius Degen ’23 (leadership, courage, reliability)

Curling / Outdoor Recreation
The Brier Award for MVP: Rayhan Darediya ’24 (leadership, courage, and zest)
Most Dedicated: Pablo Guzman ’24 (perseverance, humour, zest)
Most Improved: Bradley McCutcheon ’24 (hope, self-regulation, zest)

Most Valuable Climber: Esme Campbell ’23 (transcendence)
Most Improved: Alex Holoborodko ’26 (perspective)
Most Dedicated: Hayden Chan ’26 (courage)

1st Volleyball
Susan Hadden Trophy for MVP: Tierney Cater ’23 (leadership, kindness, perseverance)
Heart of the Game: Maureen Hodnett ’24 (teamwork and love of learning)
Most Improved: Tamara Von Achten ’24 (charisma and dedication)

Jr. Volleyball
J. Paige R. Wadsworth Award for MVP: Victoria Luke ’25 (dominance and reliability)
Heart of the Game: Lilly Pottow ’25 (ambition and charisma)

2nd Volleyball
Most Valuable Player: Olivia Desjardins ’24 (gratitude, kindness, and leadership)
Most Improved Player: Molly McCulloch ’26 (love of learning, perseverance, teamwork)

1st Alpine Racing
The Hicks-Lyne Memorial Trophy: Charlie ’23 (leadership, humility, appreciation of beauty and excellence)
The James Trophy: Mya Northey ’23 (leadership, appreciation of beauty and excellence, and kindness)
Most Dedicated: Jeronimo Santoyo ’25 (love of learning, humour, curiosity)
Junior Contribution: Lauren Dalton ’26 (bravery, love of learning, perseverance)

1st Riding
Most Improved Rider: Ansheng Zhou ’26 (kindness, perseverance, and love of learning)

Team Fitness
Most Dedicated: Jonah Papp ’23 (self-regulation and love of learning) and Annie Merrifield ’23 (kindness and dedication)

Most Dedicated: Aidan Kang ’24 (perseverance and love of learning)
Most Enthusiastic: Luke Newbigging ’24 (dedication and leadership)

1st Nordic Racing
Harper Walker Cup for Most Valuable Skier: Gabe Roti ’25 (dedication)
Development Team MVP: Lora Ross ’26 (love of learning)
Development Team MVP: Levi Follows ’26 (curiosity)
Development Team MIP: Iliyan Nanji ’25 (dedication and perseverance)
Spirit of the Sport: Louisa Dalglish ’25 (leadership)

Jr. Basketball
J. Paige R. Wadsworth Award for MVP: Oliver Holmes ’25 and Myers Mbonda ’26 (perseverance and leadership)
Most Improved Player: Henry Hu ’26 and Josh ’25 (curiosity and perseverance)

1st Basketball
The Colonel Lefevre Trophy for MVP: Alper Gol ’23 (perspective, perseverance, and self-regulation)
Most Improved Player: Jacob Jiang ’24 (perseverance, humility, and teamwork)
Wilcox Award: Efe Yencilek ’23 (leadership, love of learning, and self-regulation)

1st Snowboard Racing
Most Improved Shredder: Thomas Noone ’26 (perseverance, love of learning, and gratitude)
Fastest Shredder: Alex Smith ’25 (dedication, self-regulation, and kindness)

1st Boys’ Hockey
The Colonel Lefevre Trophy for MVP: Caleb Lain and Emerson Sheward (perseverance, humility, and teamwork)
Bob Armstrong Award for Best Defenceman: Dylan Rasmus ’24 and Max Cantelon ’24 (leadership, dedication, and tenacity)
Rookie of the Year: Jud McGowan ’25 (love of learning, kindness)

1st Girls’ Hockey
Susan Hadden Trophy for MVP: Hayley Schwartzentruber ’24 (perseverance, kindness, and leadership)
Most Improved Player: Mae-Ling Miller ’25 (perseverance and love of learning)

2nd Boys’ Hockey
Winder Smith Memorial Award for MVP: Miles Mei ’23 (perseverance and courage)
Most Improved Player: Jaden Ruparelia ’23 (steadfast and teamwork)
Most Dedicated: Devon Hansen ’23 (tenacious and leadership)

Spirit of Yoga: Emilia Baumann ’25 (spirituality and love of learning), Alden Desy ’24 (humility and love of learning), and Yasmina Bevan Turra ’25 (love of learning and humour)

Spirit of Robotics: Ruiyan Liang ’25 (perseverance)

Culinary Arts
Cast Iron Chef: Jesse Briscoe ’25 (leadership, kindness, and humour)

Drawing and Painting
Most Dedicated: Sierra Gilfillan ’23 (appreciation of beauty, love of learning, and curiosity)

Learn to Play Guitar
Most Dedicated: Stella McAloon ’25 (love of learning)

Film Club Creative Versatility Award: Madison Dellamea ’23 (creative, perseverance, and love of learning)

Dance Company
Junior Spirit of Dance: Catherine Whan Ton ’26 and Nina Zhou ’26 (dedication and love of learning)
Most Valuable Dancer Jr: Maia Brocklehurst ’25 (passion and leadership)
Senior Spirit Dance: Daphne Sng ’23 and Norah Appleby ’24 (kindness and leadership)
Most Valuable Dancer Sr: Aurora Gibb ’23 (leadership, teamwork, and inclusivity)
Choreographic Contribution to the Company: Isabelle Kim ’23 and Lillian Yang ’23 (dedication, perseverance, and leadership)

Musical Theatre
Rookie of the Year: Hannah El-Baradie ’25 and Richard ’25 (love of learning and dedication)
Outstanding Contribution to the Program: Alex Bemrose ’45 and Isabelle Kim ’23 (leadership and kindness)
Outstanding Performance: Ananya MacDonald ’23 and Ben Freeman ’23 (creativity and dedication)
Crew Award: Erina Qose ’24 and Mia ’25 (leadership, perseverance, and organization)
Stage Manager Award: Krista Weinbrecht ’23 (leadership and dedication) 
No comments have been posted

School Information

4391 County Road 29, Lakefield Ontario K0L 2H0   705.652.3324   admissions@lcs.on.ca


Lakefield College School is a private, coeducational boarding and day school for students in grades 9 through 12, located in Lakefield, Ontario, Canada.

We respectfully acknowledge that Lakefield College School is located on the Treaty 20 Michi Saagiig territory and in the traditional territory of the Michi Saagiig and Chippewa Nations, collectively known as the Williams Treaties First Nations, which include: Curve Lake, Hiawatha, Alderville, Scugog Island, Rama, Beausoleil, and Georgina Island First Nations.
Lakefield College School respectfully acknowledges that the Williams Treaties First Nations are the stewards and caretakers of these lands and waters in perpetuity and that they continue to maintain this responsibility to ensure their health and integrity for generations to come.

Accessibility   Privacy Policy   Website Terms of Use